Here at Bridges Nursery we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which covers children's development and learning from birth to 5 years old. The EYFS is designed to deliver improved outcomes for all children, across every area of learning and development. As an extra addition to the curriculum, children at Bridges Nursery participate in French and English lessons and also dance and movement classes. We take our children out on visits and short walks so that they can explore all different kinds of weather. We love to involve our parents through regular parents' social evenings. At these events you will meet with your childs key person who will talk to you about their development.


You can view the Development Matters guidance and seek advice at the Department of Education and Schools website.

Once the children reach their pre-school year a curriculum is carefully planned and designed to encourage each child to work towards the Early Learning Goals. The goals are organised into seven areas of learning.

The seven areas of learning are split into two sections:

There are the 3 prime areas:

Communication and Language

• Physical development

• Personal, Social and Emotional development

Of which, the specific areas are:

• Literacy

• Mathematics

• Understanding the world

• Expressive Arts and Design 

Together they provide opportunities to address important aspects of children's spiritual, moral, social and cultural development. We recognise that all children develop and progress at different rates and regular observation and assessment of work and meetings with parents enable us to establish each child's current achievements and abilities.